Skip to content

Want vs. Need: My iPhone Debate

June 29, 2010

iPhone Cases on Etsy
iPhone Cases on Etsy.com
Birds iPhone Skin by birdsonawireboutique
iPod Cozy – Handmade felt iPhone sleeve with cascading blue felt flowers by DashingEtc
Handmade iPhone Case With Embroidered Hedgehog
by JennMaruskaDesign
IPhone Case – Raspberry Toaster Pastry by DanielleLondon
Kelvin the Monkey Iphone Leather Case by leatherprince
Padded Case for iPhone Bright Flowers by dorydesigns

My cell phone started acting funny a couple of weekends ago.  After opening the back cover and removing quite a bit of pocket lint from behind the battery, it worked fine again.  Later I told my husband what happened and that my phone is probably on it’s way out, and he asked, “What do you want to do about it?”  There’s a key word here: WANT.

I have to admit I was feeling somewhat disappointed that cleaning fixed the issue.  Part of me wants my little flip phone to die so I’ll have an excuse to get an iPhone.  My phone is due for an upgrade and I’d like to get something with an internet connection.  I’m a Mac girl all the way and I know so many people who have iPhones and love them.  My husband and best friend each have an iPod touch and I get to play with those now and then.

But, I don’t NEED an iPhone.  My phone still works and even when it does die, I could easily get along with another just like it.  I don’t need to be connected to the internet 24/7.  I don’t need to be posting on Facebook or Twitter all the time.  I’m near enough a computer most of the time anyway.  And on top of it, I certainly don’t need a bigger cell phone bill.

So for now, I’ll keep waiting to make a decision until my flip phone bites it.

What would you do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 11:43 am

    YAY! Ipod covers!

  2. July 3, 2010 11:13 am

    The technology is so tempting, but I see my friends excusing themselves from a gathering to go pay attention to their phone and I think how I don’t ever want that to be me. When I am out and about with people, I want to give them my full attention. I say go for it only if you can discipline yourself to leave it in your purse on silent when you are with anyone else. Then your bill might not be too much higher anyway.

Leave a Reply

